On Blog Names

This blog is not named Pill Red, Condition Yellow because I have a TSA fetish, nor am I a Quaalude popping Ronald McDonald impersonator.  It’s an admonishment, both to myself and to you, Dear Reader, to maintain situational awareness and an accurate mindset.

If you don’t know what the Red Pill is, go find out.  I’ll be right here when you return.

Got it?  Good.

What the hell is Condition Yellow? you ask, breathless.  Is it some mustard based Apocalypse?  A foolproof way to beat stoplights? A schoolbus-themed gambling system?

Nope.  It’s a little more grim than that, I’m afraid.

I used to be a grunt – a real deal, doorkicking, life-takin’ heart breakin’ US Marine.  As a Marine, I learned many things.  Some of them are so impractical as to make the uninitiated laugh.  Others, I would give anything to unlearn.  A few things, though, I have taken with me into civilian life and applied to my great benefit.

One author I was exposed to during my time in the service was Lt Col Jeff Cooper.  He was an excellent teacher and thinker, and one mental tool he developed is called the Cooper Color Code.  This color code refers to one’s state of mind.  Here is the Color Code as it relates to the world of the combat infantryman, the beat cop, or even the armed civilian:

Condition White: Unaware and unprepared. If attacked in Condition White, the only thing that may save you is the inadequacy or ineptitude of your attacker. When confronted by something nasty, your reaction will probably be “Oh my God! This can’t be happening to me.”

Condition Yellow: Relaxed alert. No specific threat situation. Your mindset is that “today could be the day I may have to defend myself”. You are simply aware that the world is a potentially unfriendly place and that you are prepared to defend yourself, if necessary. You use your eyes and ears, and realize that “I may have to shoot today”. You don’t have to be armed in this state, but if you are armed you should be in Condition Yellow. You should always be in Yellow whenever you are in unfamiliar surroundings or among people you don’t know. You can remain in Yellow for long periods. In Yellow, you are “taking in” surrounding information in a relaxed but alert manner, like a continuous 360 degree radar sweep. As Cooper put it, “I might have to shoot.”

Condition Orange: Specific alert. Something is not quite right and has your attention. Your radar has picked up a specific alert. You shift your primary focus to determine if there is a threat (but you do not drop your six). Your mindset shifts to “I may have to shoot that person today”, focusing on the specific target which has caused the escalation in alert status. In Condition Orange, you set a mental trigger: “If that person does “X”, I will need to stop them”. Your pistol usually remains holstered in this state. Staying in Orange can be a bit of a mental strain, but you can stay in it for as long as you need to. If the threat proves to be nothing, you shift back to Condition Yellow.

Condition Red: Condition Red is fight. Your mental trigger (established back in Condition Orange) has been tripped. “If ‘X’ happens I will shoot that person”.

There is another state, called Condition Black, which is a catastrophic breakdown of mental and physical performance.  The person is so surprised, shocked, and terrified that they can no longer function.

Great, Dogsquat, you say.  What the hell does that have to do with me and girls?  You want me to run some Mozambique Drills on the hot girl in the coffee shop?

No, Dear Reader, one should not shoot girls.  It makes having sex with them morally problematic.  Remember, this color code is not about what you DO, it’s about how you THINK.  You can apply it to living as a Red Pill man in the following fashion:

Condition White – Ignorant and unaware.  You believe that women are to be ensconced upon a pedestal of finest marble.  They’re better than you in almost every way – more emotionally intelligent, more moral, more trustworthy, capable of greater feeling.  You’re a fucking chump, and if you get laid it’s by accident.  If you somehow luck into a relationship, your girl is going to be bored and pissed off at you before long.  You’re going to be paying alimony and child support unless you’re very, very lucky.

Condition Yellow – Informed and paying attention, relaxed and confident.  You know how the Game is played, and you’re reading the social data-stream and observing opportunities hidden to ignorant men.  In a relationship, you’re picking up body language and shit tests.  When interacting with a stranger/coworker/friend, you see IOIs and understand subtle flirtation.

Condition Orange – You’ve picked up on something that requires action.  You’ve been thrown a shit test, or your wife is hiding her cell phone when she texts.

Condition Red – Time for the Nuclear Option.  Your boundaries have been violated or you’ve been disrespected in an egregious fashion.  You no longer act with her interests in mind.  She has shown herself to be unworthy of that honor. You are now looking out for you, and you alone.

Condition Black – You are served divorce papers while recovering from the surgery to donate your left kidney to your wife.

A very common misconception made by many men is that you have to be Doing Something all the time, or your SO is going to think you’re “beta” and take a hypergamous shit right on your chump-ass forehead.  That is simply not true.

If you filter every interaction with a woman through your Game-O-Meter, you’re going to look like a jackass.  Not everything she asks is a shit test.  You do not have to have “dominant body language” when turning on your windshield wipers.  You can tell a story that doesn’t Demonstrate Higher Value to your girlfriend, or talk about Proust and Sartre to the nerdy chicks.  You can relate to women as fellow human beings – most of the time, in fact.  If you stay in Condition Red all the time, you’re gonna go nuts.  You’ll also drive away every sane person you come across.

Just remain in Condition Yellow, be yourself, and pay attention.  It’s actually a lot of fun.

24 thoughts on “On Blog Names

  1. Definitely had a condition white experience that prompted preparation for condition yellow. Guy confronted me ready to fight and had the adrenaline rush, oh shit not sure if I can handle this response. Froze.

    A year of Krav later and I feel yellow most always. Still a ways to go but there’s a definite comfort in knowing how to handle basics and then some.

    Good shit. Looking forward to future posts.

  2. I was in condition white as a young man. Cost me my first marriage. Took the red pill and have been in condition yellow ever since. Celebrating my 20th wedding anniversary this September with wife #2 and I can still make her giggle the way she did when we met.

    Good stuff, looking forward to more.

  3. Very good read. I was thinking about the truth behind your assessment of white’s condition-your girl is going to be pissed or bored with you very soon. I’m reminded of a scene from Thomas Berger’s “Little Big Man” (later adapted into an excellent movie with Dustin Hoffman). The narrator is recounting how the wagon train his family is in is attacked by drunken Indians. All of the man are killed, and the women raped. The next day, while the survivors are trying to sort through the tragedy, the chief shows up, offering compensation in the form of horses etc. and a way to placate them. He launches into a speech, and the women bark at him to go fuck himself. Berger’s take on this is classic: “Which shows you how the female mind works: a woman will put up with anything [i e rape] as long as it’s interesting, but bore her and she don’t know fear.” Your remark about boredom hits the same nail. Countless words and energy have been written (I’m thinking HUS) about the basic clash between the “modern” woman’s need to be validated in the professional/business world and her attempt to reconcile her emotional ones, which run counter to this. We did not arrive here by chance. Millenniums cured our meat. You cannot flatter, adore, honor etc. a woman into having a “spark” for you-it will never happen. The guy in that condition can’t use your advice anyway. He serves the biological imperative that should calamity hit, there will be some receptacles of protoplasm around to inseminate whatever bitches are left over..Think war; it’s the best. The alphas get killed off and large segments of the lesser ordinals.The pansy chimpanzees are all that’s left, or left in disproportionate numbers to repopulate, albeit with less aggressive males so less war, more people. France is a good example; they were semi-bad ass until Napoleon got all the tough guys creamed (made them shorter too-had to be 5’9″ to be in his army, tall then, so they got offed).What remained of decent French sperm got obliterated in WWI because rushing machine takes balls, but not brains, and years of trench warfare took it all out of them. But French men despite being gutless and without the slightest sense of honor are great at being assholes, and French women love drama,so they march drearily on having just enough kids to keep the culture going although why is of course a mystery since they’ve already given us all they’re going to-chicken cordon bleu, cafe aulet, and oral sex.

    Don’t get me wrong; just because a woman has been fucked over doesn’t mean she’s been with a real man, anymore than me emptying my .223 varmit rifle into a dead Afghani makes me a combat Marine.The only fighters I’ve known who went in for gratuitous violence were drunk, or in near psychotic anger. A man has his purpose, and does what he has to to attain it. Indulgence beyond that is not manly , which is why France proudly describes itself as the land of indulgence.

    • I implore you to keep going. See, you’re living exactly what I’m talking about, and not afraid to write it down. This blog is “Big Picture”, yours is “Practical Application”. They fit together, like White Phosphorus and HE Quick in a nice Battery six Fire For Effect.

      • What I love about this blog is the fact that I know precisely what you’re saying and 90% of the others are thinking, “uh….what?”

        “fire for effect” “wolly-p”. Lol.

  4. Looks like you got through the chemo ok Munson. Great comment. Dog, any other USMC words of wisdom that can be applied to Game?

    • I thought about it. Locate, close with, and destroy the enemy by fire and maneuver doesn’t work well, does it?

      Possibly the maxim “Do Something – the 70% solution now is better than a 100% solution later” is a good way to think of approaching. We NCOs pound that one into our new Officers. “What now, Lieutenant?” is probably the most asked question of OCS candidates.

      I am also partial to living by the mantra “Always Faithful”. It is sometimes hard, but it is usually the right thing to do, once you calibrate yourself.

  5. Brilliant. This made it for me:

    “Remember, this color code is not about what you DO, it’s about how you THINK.”

    I would only expand it since this is a defensive / war framework. It’s missing on the spectrum:

    Code gold: the land is full of opportunity, take them / make a profit. (In war this would be the pillage / rape phase. In non-war this would be construct, elevate, project, achieve)

    Code blue: Celebration / relaxation / joyful / play time.

    • That’s an excellent point. I’m going to stick that in somewhere – so much of the manosphere misses that. Once you get this crap figured out and get your life on track, it’s FUN. Go bang a thousand women. Go find one woman and bang her a thousand times – it is not cheek-to-jowl conflict with women 24/7.

  6. Well isn’t this going to be a fun blog to follow. Welcome to the shingle game, DS.

    As to this post:

    “Once you get this crap figured out and get your life on track, it’s FUN.”

    I concur. Critics of game say it teaches men to objectify women, view them as robots or (as bb’s husband put it) “non-player characters.” That’s bupkus, it’s been the complete opposite for me – women no longer confuse and anger me, because I no longer see them as defective men or inscrutable extraterrestrial creatures (I’m looking at you John Gray). I can appreciate them for what and how they are, and have realistic expectations for what they can and can’t bring to my life.

    • Good God, someone please do a post on this. A thousand posts on this. We women are not perfect and we are not helping ourselves any with what we are allowing feminism to teach our daughters, but a lot of what you guys have to put up with from us is not learned, it simply is. We are supposed to be this way (bitchy? NO. Submissive but a bit pushy at times? Yes) One of the reasons I am so enamored with game is that mothers and fathers no longer teach their children about the differences of men and women and how these differences are complimentary (if sometimes difficult and annoying). I believe that game can bring this back more than anything else. While I would like to believe women will change on their own, I know better and as a whole, I do not think women will change without men leading the way. So, to you men leading the charge, I say thank you and keep it up.

      *BTW, yes I know that a lot of women have taken the “difficult and annoying” to the Nth degree. I am just trying to talk about regular people here. Not those who have taken bitchy to an art form.

  7. Just re-read the post itself. Good stuff. Add this to John Boyd’s OODA Loop and you’ve got some pretty good decision analysis tools going on.

    Also noticed your use of the term “butter bar” to describe buck lieutenants, LOL’d on that one soldier. Always hated divining the color of the insignia in fluorescent lamplight.

  8. This stuff is all still a bit vague to me. At it’s core, it’s that the Red pill is reality, specifically the reality of what women want, how they act, etc. I’m assuming feminism has a part to play in that it still can’t touch the way women really have been evolved to be. But if could influence how you approach game.

    The blue pill is how Ive put women on a pedestal, been scared of them, waited for them to come and choose me, and not be discriminating. This ended in divorce for me, btw.

    I like the condition yellow idea. I tend to be in white 24/7. I take in a lot of “inner game” stuff, but tend to forget it when I am out in the world. I also don’t think I pay attention to other peoples responses. Kinda thinking of what I’m gonna say next.

    I’m just writing this to clarify it for myself. Keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

